Abridged CV

Current positions

  • Professor of regional development studies, Tampere University, Faculty of Management and Business, Finland (2000 -> )
  • Founding Head of the Research Group for Urban and Regional Development Studies (Sente), University of Tampere (1998 ->)
  • Adjunct professor of Economic Geography, University of Helsinki (2019-)

Earlier academic positions (selected)

  • Professorial Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Social Research (IASR) (2014) 
  • Founding Dean of the School of Management, University of Tampere (2011-2013)
  • Closing Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Administration (2009-2010)
  • Head of the Department of Regional Studies (2007-2009)
  • Senior Researcher at the Turku School of Economics, Finland Futures Research Centre (1997)
  • Research Professor at the University of Tampere, Department of Regional Studies (1998 - 2000)
  • Adjunct professor of Futures Studies, Tampere University of Technology (1998-2018)

Earlier academic positions of trust (selected)

University of Tampere 

  • Chairman of the board, School of Management (2010-2013)
  • Member of the rector’s senior management team at UTA (2011-2013)
  • Chairman of the department council (Dept. of Regional Studies) (2007-2009)
  • Member of the faculty council, Faculty of Economics and Administration (1998-2000; 2009-2010)
  • Chairman of the faculty council, Faculty of Economics and Administration (2009-2010)
  • Vice member of the faculty council, Faculty of Economics and Administration (2007-2009)
  • Member of the board Regea Institute for Regenerative Medicine (2007-2010)
  • Member of the department council, Dept. of Regional Studies (1996-2000; 2007-2010)

Finland Futures Academy 

  • Chairman of the board (2007 ->)
  • Vice chairman of the board (2006)
  • Member of the board (2002-2005)

Regional Studies Association

  • Lead academic organiser of the RSA 2013 European Conference in Tampere
  • RSA Ambassador, Finland (2002 ->)
  • Member of the board of NORSA (Nordic Section of the RSA) (2009 ->)
  • Research network co-ordinator with Prof. Beer (Adelaide Univ.) and Dr. Gibney (Birmingham Univ.) (2010 - 2012)
  • Research network co-ordinator with Dr. Uyarra (Manchester Univ.) and Dr. Wilson (Deusto Univ.)
  • Member of the Research Committee (2017->)

International Geographical Union (IGU), National Committee of Finland

  • Vice chairman (2006-2009)
  • Member (2016-2019)

Policy experience (selected)

Tampere District Co-operative Bank (OP Tampere) and OP Financial Group

  • OP Tampere
    • Chairman of the Board of Directors (12/2018->)
    • Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors (12/2017-12/2018)
    • Member of the Board of Directors (12/2013->11/2017)
    • Member of the supervisory board (2011-2013)
    • Member of the audit committee (2012-2013)
  • OP Financial Group
    • Member of the Supervisory Board (3/2018 ->) 
  • Federation of Tampere Region Co-operative Banks
    • Chairman of the Board (11/2016-11/2017)

Tampere Chamber of Commerce

  • Member of the regional planning and land-use committee (2016-2018)

The President of Finland

  • Member of the round-table discussions on regional policy (2000-2001)

Finnish Parliament, Futures Committee

  • Advisor (metropolitan development) (2007-2009)
  • Advisor (innovation systems and environments) (2002-2005)

Sitra - the Finnish Innovation Fund

  • Member of the steering group and reporting expert in “Finland as globally competitive innovation environment” -program (2004-2005)


  • Lead evaluator in an international group of experts in evaluation of higher education institutions’ role in economic development in Mid Norway (2005-2006)

Vinnova / Region Skåne (Sweden)

  • Member in an international group of experts in consulting of development of regional innovation systems in Southern Sweden (2009-2010)

Ministry of the Interior

  • The Cooperation Group for Urban Policy, expert member of the group (1997-1999)

Ministry of Education

  • Assigned expert (selvitysmies) on universities’ societal and economic engagement (2006-2007)
  • Member in the working group for formulating strategy for creativity in Finland (2005)

City of Tampere

  • Chairman of the advisory board of the Creative Tampere –programme (2006-2011)
  • Member of the advisory board of the World Creative Forum 2013 (2012-2014)

Innovation and research programme of South Ostrobothnia 

  • Chairman of the board 2001-2013

EtlaTieto, Ltd. for the Ministry of Employment and the Economy

  • Panel member in the international evaluation of the national innovation system of Finland (2008-2009)

Even the years wander on (Matsuo Bashō)

© Markku Sotarauta - est. 1998